The Committee

The Georgy Awards became an incorporated entity in 2011 and is run by a committee of volunteers who work tirelessly each year to bring the awards ceremony to life. At present the committee consists of the following volunteers:


President – Joyce Baker-Dawber OAM
Vice President – Tricia Deakin
Secretary – Bronwyn Prater
Treasurer – Max Dawber
Technical Liaison Officer – Clare Rich
Committee Member – Kathy Daly
Committee Member – Kelsey Dealy
Committee Member – Darcy Elliott


Within the committee exists both a Senior and Junior Judging Coordinator who are responsible for the organisation of judges attending the shows that have applied to be judged.

Georgy Judges

  • Joyce Baker-Dawber OAM (Senior Judging Coordinator)
  • Bron Prater (Junior Judging Coordinator)
  • Trish Deakin (Junior Judging Coordinator)
  • Tanya Brown
  • Carol Davdison
  • Jan Hyde
  • John Hyde
  • Laurie Hucker
  • Noella Kay
  • Liz Kirk
  • Narelle Parker
  • Lauren Schmutter


The committee is supported by graphic design studio, Propaganda Creative to produce the yearly presentation and associated marketing collateral.


The Venues for the Georgy Awards

The inaugural Georgy Awards were hold at the Hotel Victoria in Shepparton and over the years the awards night has had many homes. Whilst the Georgy Awards presentation nights were split into Senior and Junior, venues used included Amber Court Receptions and TAFE’s Harder Auditorium for the Senior presentations, and Wesley Church Hall, Shepparton High School Hall and The Maude Street Mall for Junior presentations.


The Georgy Awards were combined again to include both Senior and Junior sections in 2002 and were held at WestSide Performing Arts Centre, Mooroopna. In 2010, the Georgy Awards were held at the Paramount Theatre, Echuca.


After presenting the award ceremony at the Eastbank Centre, Shepparton from 2011 – 2017, the awards were presented at Riverlinks WestSide, Mooroopna in February 2019 for the 2018 theatre season which saw the judging year move to a full calendar year with the awards ceremony being held in February of the year after.